Q&A

Below you will find answers to questions that we are often asked during the investment process. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
What is due diligence and how does it work at Blue Cap?

Due diligence involves carrying out a detailed analysis of a company at various levels. Buyers complete this process before acquiring a company. We carry out due diligence with our own experienced employees and the assistance of external consultants. Depending on the company, the due diligence process can have different areas of focus. Typical points of review are the market, customer and competitive situation, the company’s finances and tax & legal due diligence.

How does Blue Cap assess a company?

Blue Cap uses all standard methods to assess companies, such as relative valuation, DCF and LBO models. The assessment is generally based on observable valuation factors of comparable companies, taking into account various factors such as company size, market position, profitability, growth prospects, cash flow, current trading, business plan and implicit risks (trading multiples).

How does Blue Cap finance the purchase of a company?

As a listed company, Blue Cap has a solid equity base and can usually finance acquisitions from existing liquid assets. We also regularly review the admixture of debt capital if this is deemed sensible for economic and tax reasons. With our stock exchange listing, there is also the possibility of raising additional capital through capital increases.

Is Blue Cap a private equity firm?

Like many private equity firms, Blue Cap is also a temporary owner. However, due to our structure, we are not subject to (fixed) fund maturities. Every one of our portfolio companies is given the time it needs to reach a sustainable course of growth. We keep our portfolio companies in the Group until it makes more sense for them to pursue successful performance with a new ownership structure (best-owner approach).

What role do synergies play in the takeover process?

Synergies are not part of our acquisition criteria for independent acquisitions in new fields. An exception to this rule are acquisitions for existing portfolio companies. In these cases, synergies are part of the economic potential to be analysed.

When is an acquisition not possible from Blue Cap’s point of view?

Blue Cap AG invests in established SMEs that have clear potential for improving their earnings and growth prospects. We do not consider ourselves to be the right partner for start-ups or very young companies, or for companies that do not have potential for improvement or that have very high restructuring needs.

Why is Blue Cap the right partner for succession bottlenecks?

An entrepreneur dealing with a company transfer usually wants to ensure that the company can continue on a positive trajectory with its employees and can seize new opportunities with Blue Cap. This is why we offer the transferring owners a transparent platform on which their company can continue to develop independently without having to relinquish the strengths of a family business or, worse still, lose its identity. Carving organisations up or focusing exclusively on cost management to save until there is nothing left to save is not Blue Cap’s approach.

Does Blue Cap also participate as a minority shareholder?

As a general rule, we aim for a majority shareholding alone or with a partner, as this is the only way we can actively support and assist our portfolio companies.

Does Blue Cap also acquire companies in economic difficulties?

Blue Cap has in the past acquired companies in economically precarious situations. The main requirement, however, is a healthy core business and sustainable potential for value growth.

What happens with a company following an acquisition?

Our aim is for every portfolio company within the organisation to operate independently and develop and follow its own individual strategies. As part of the integration process, new portfolio companies are incorporated into Blue Cap’s reporting and risk management processes. The experienced Blue Cap portfolio team is also available to the portfolio companies as a strategic sparring partner and can supply the companies with additional resources for strategic projects. Blue Cap and the portfolio companies regularly discuss important issues, and a conference is put on every year where all managing directors can come together to share experiences and learn from one another.

Can the seller remain associated with the company as part of the succession plan once the takeover by Blue Cap is complete?

The seller usually brings a great deal of market and company expertise with them and can benefit the company’s continued operations. The concrete structure of the collaboration is agreed individually on a case-by-case basis. A minority shareholding or working with the company as an external consultant, for example, is plausible.

Does the management team stay the same following the takeover by Blue Cap?

Usually a key investment criterion is the continuation of the company’s operations by the existing management. We are interested in a collaborative partnership and, as a rule, our approach is to keep the management team involved in the company even after the takeover. Retaining the existing management team can provide continuity in the company’s development. The concrete structure of the investment is agreed on an individual basis.

Hello, my name is Tobias Eiblmeier

Mergers & Acquisitions


    I have read and understood the privacy policy. I agree to my details and data being collected and stored electronically in order to respond to my enquiry.*
    Subscribe to Newsletter



    Stay informed about the latest news and developments by subscribing to our newsletter. You will receive our press releases and other information concerning the Blue Cap Group by e-mail.

    These services are free of charge and may be cancelled at any time.

    Data protection is important to us

    In order to have the best browsing experience, we recommend that you agree to the use of cookies. Some cookies are essential for the functioning of this website and therefore cannot be deselected. Other cookies help us to personalise content and analyse website traffic. Third-party cookies allow you to access various social media features and receive personalised advertisements.

    For more information, click on “Details” or read our privacy policy. You can adjust the settings at any time by clicking on “Cookies” in the bottom left-hand corner.

    Details

    Necessary

    Only with the necessary cookies, this website is functional. They enable basic functions such as page navigation. These cookies are played by the website operator and are only transmitted to this page.

    Preferences

    These cookies allow the website to function better. They help the website remember information: selected languages, regions, usernames, ..... This information is collected anonymously only.

    Analysis & Statistics

    Statistics cookies help us as the website operator to understand how users interact with our content and which pages are visited. The information is collected and passed anonymously to our service provider.

Q&A

Nachfolgend finden Sie Antworten auf Fragen, die uns während des Beteiligungsprozesses immer wieder gestellt werden. Sollten Sie darüber hinaus noch Fragen haben zögern Sie bitte nicht, uns zu kontaktieren.

Was ist eine „Due Diligence“ und wie läuft sie bei der Blue Cap ab?

Der Begriff „Due Diligence (DD)“ bedeutet wörtlich „gebotene Sorgfalt“ und meint damit die detaillierte Analyse des Unternehmens auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen, die der Käufer eines Unternehmens vor einer Akquisition durchführt. Wir führen die Due Diligence mit eigenen erfahrenen Mitarbeitern und unter Hinzunahme von externen Beratern durch. Je nach Art des Unternehmens kann eine Due Diligence verschiedene Schwerpunkte haben. Typische Bereiche sind Markt-, Kunden- und Wettbewerbssituation, Finanzen sowie Steuern & Recht.

Wie bewertet die Blue Cap ein Unternehmen?

Die Blue Cap bewertet die Unternehmen nach allen gängigen Verfahren, wie z.B. relativer Bewertung, DCF und LBO Modellen. Dabei orientiert sich die Bewertung in der Regel an beobachtbaren Bewertungsfaktoren vergleichbarer Unternehmen unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Faktoren, wie z.B. Unternehmensgröße, Marktposition, Profitabilität, Wachstumsperspektiven, Cashflow, Current Trading, Business Plan und implizite Risiken (Trading Multiples).

Wie finanziert die Blue Cap den Kauf eines Unternehmens?

Als börsennotierte Gesellschaft verfügt die Blue Cap über eine solide Eigenkapitalbasis und kann Akquisitionen in der Regel aus vorhandenen liquiden Mitteln finanzieren. Darüber hinaus prüfen wir regelmäßig die Beimischung von Fremdkapital, sofern dies aus wirtschaftlichen und steuerlichen Gründen sinnvoll erscheint. Durch unsere vorhandene Börsennotierung besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen von Kapitalerhöhungen zusätzliches Kapital einzuwerben.

Ist die Blue Cap eine Private-Equity-Gesellschaft?

Analog vieler Private-Equity-Gesellschaften ist auch die Blue Cap Eigentümerin auf Zeit. Jedoch unterliegen wir aufgrund unserer Struktur keinen (festen) Fondslaufzeiten. Jedes unserer Unternehmen bekommt die Zeit, die für das Erreichen eines nachhaltigen Wachstumspfades erforderlich ist. Wir halten unsere Beteiligungen so lange in der Gruppe, bis eine erfolgreiche Weiterentwicklung in einer anderen Eigentümerstruktur sinnvoller erscheint (Best-Owner-Ansatz).

Welche Rolle spielen Synergien für das Zustandekommen einer Übernahme?

Synergien sind für uns kein Akquisitionskriterium für eigenständige Akquisitionen in neue Bereiche. Ausnahme sind Zukäufe für bestehende Beteiligungen. In diesen Fällen ist es ein Teil der zu analysierenden wirtschaftlichen Potenziale.

Wann ist ein Zusammenkommen aus Sicht der Blue Cap nicht möglich?

Die Blue Cap investiert in etablierte, mittelständische Unternehmen mit einem klaren Ergebnisverbesserungspotenzial sowie Wachstumschancen. Für Unternehmen, welche sich noch in der Gründungs- bzw. Frühphase befinden, sowie Unternehmen ohne Verbesserungspotenzial oder mit sehr hohem Sanierungsbedarf sind wir nicht der richtige Ansprechpartner.

Warum ist die Blue Cap die richtige Ansprechadresse bei Nachfolgeengpässen?

Ein Unternehmer, der sich mit einer Firmenweitergabe beschäftigt, will in der Regel sicherstellen, dass sich das Unternehmen mit ihren Beschäftigten weiter gut entwickelt und mit Blue Cap neue Chancen nutzen kann. Wir bieten den abgebenden Eigentümern hierfür eine transparente Plattform, auf der sich ihr Unternehmen weiter selbstständig entwickeln kann, ohne dass es dabei die Stärken eines Familienunternehmens oder gar seine Identität abgeben muss. Eine Organisation zu filetieren oder ausschließlich durch Kostenmanagement klein zu sparen, ist nicht der Ansatz der Blue Cap.

Engagiert sich die Blue Cap auch als Minderheitsgesellschafter?

Wir streben in der Regel eine Mehrheitsbeteiligung allein oder mit Partner an, da wir nur damit die Möglichkeit bekommen, unsere Beteiligungsunternehmen aktiv zu unterstützen und zu begleiten.

Erwirbt die Blue Cap auch Unternehmen in wirtschaftlicher Schieflage?

Die Blue Cap hat bereits in der Vergangenheit Unternehmen erworben, die in einer wirtschaftlich angespannten Lage waren. Grundvoraussetzung ist jedoch ein gesundes Kerngeschäft und ein nachhaltiges Wertsteigerungspotenzial.

Was geschieht mit den Unternehmen nach der Übernahme?

Unser Ziel ist es, dass jede Beteiligung innerhalb der Organisation operativ selbstständig arbeitet und eigenständige Strategien entwickelt und verfolgt. Im Rahmen der Integration werden neue Beteiligungen in das Reporting und Risikomanagement der Blue Cap eingebunden. Zusätzlich steht das erfahrene Portfolio-Team der Blue Cap den Beteiligungen als Sparringspartner und zusätzliche Ressource für strategische Projekte zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus gibt es einen regelmäßigen Dialog zu aktuellen Themen zwischen der Blue Cap und den Beteiligungen sowie eine jährliche Konferenz aller Geschäftsführer mit dem vorrangigen Ziel des Erfahrungsaustauschs.

Kann der Verkäufer im Rahmen der Nachfolgeregelung nach der Übernahme durch die Blue Cap dem Unternehmen verbunden bleiben?

Der Verkäufer bringt in der Regel eine hohe Expertise zum Markt und über das Unternehmen mit, die von Vorteil für die Unternehmensfortführung sein kann. Die konkrete Ausgestaltung der Zusammenarbeit wird individuell von Fall zu Fall vereinbart. Denkbar ist beispielsweise eine minderheitliche Beteiligung oder die Beschäftigung als externer Berater.

Bleibt das Management nach Übernahme durch die Blue Cap erhalten?

In der Regel ist die Fortführung des Unternehmens durch das bestehende Management ein wesentliches Investitionskriterium. Wir sind an einer partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit interessiert und verfolgen grundsätzlich den Ansatz, das Managementteam auch nach Übernahme am Unternehmen zu beteiligen. Der Erhalt des bestehenden Managements kann für Kontinuität in der Unternehmensfortentwicklung führen. Die konkrete Ausgestaltung der Beteiligung wird individuell vereinbart.

Guten Tag, mein Name ist Tobias Eiblmeier

Mergers & Acquisitions


    Ich habe die Datenschutzerklärung zur Kenntnis genommen. Ich stimme zu, dass meine Angaben und Daten zur Beantwortung meiner Anfrage elektronisch erhoben und gespeichert werden.*
    Newsletter abonnieren



    Sie möchten regelmäßig von uns über aktuelle Ereignisse informiert werden? Dann nehmen wir Sie gerne in unseren Newsletter-Verteiler auf. Mit dem Ausfüllen des Kontaktformulars erhalten Sie regelmäßig unternehmensbezogene Informationen des Blue Cap Konzerns per E-Mail.

    Diesen kostenlosen Service können Sie jederzeit wieder abbestellen.

    Datenschutz ist uns wichtig

    Für ein optimales Surferlebnis empfehlen wir Ihnen, der Verwendung von Cookies zuzustimmen. Manche Cookies sind essentiell für die Funktion dieser Website und können daher nicht abgewählt werden. Andere Cookies helfen uns, die Inhalte zu personalisieren und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren. Durch Cookies von Drittanbietern erhalten Sie Zugriff auf Social Media Funktionen und erhalten auf Sie persönlich zugeschnittene Werbeanzeigen.

    Mit Klick auf „Details“ oder unsere Datenschutzerklärung, erhalten Sie weitere Informationen. Die Einstellungen können jederzeit unter „Cookies“ unten links angepasst werden.

    Details

    Notwendig

    Nur mit den notwendigen Cookies, ist diese Website funktionsfähig. Sie ermöglichen grundlegende Funktionen wie die Seitennavigation. Diese Cookies werden vom Betreiber der Website ausgespielt und werden nur an diese Seite übermittelt.

    Präferenzen

    Diese Cookies ermöglichen eine verbesserte Funktion der Website. Sie helfen der Website sich Informationen zu merken: ausgewählte Sprachen, Regionen, Benutzernamen, …. Diese Informationen werden ausschließlich anonym gesammelt.

    Analyse & Statistik

    Statistik-Cookies helfen uns als Website-Betreiber zu verstehen, wie User*innen mit unseren Inhalten interagieren und welche Seiten besucht werden. Die Informationen werden gesammelt und anonym an unseren Dienstleister weitergegeben.